QB recruiting continues to take a leap forward


Yesterday’s commitment from 4-star Florida QB Dwayne Lawson is further evidence that Virginia Tech’s quarterback recruiting has taken a big step forward under Scot Loeffler. Today we’ll take a look at Tech’s quarterback recruiting since 2008, and compare the end of the Mike O’Cain era to the beginning of the Scot Loeffler era.

Before we get into detail, here’s a list of the quarterbacks Tech has signed since 2008. It also includes 2015 commit Dwayne Lawson and 2016 commit Logan Byrd.

2008: Ju-Ju Clayton, Marcus Davis
2009: Logan Thomas
2010: Mark Leal, Ricardo Young
2011: None
2012: Brenden Motley
2013: Carlis Parker, Bucky Hodges
2014: Andrew Ford, Chris Durkin, Michael Brewer (transfer)
2015: Dwayne Lawson
2016: Logan Byrd