All Hokie, All the Time. Period.

Conference Realignment Board


Joined: 10/7/99 Posts: 12833
Likes: 1295

Would I be right to blame (partially) ESPN for the past 12 years?

Over the past 12 seasons (2006-2017), the SEC has had a team in the national title game 11 times. Two of those times both teams were SEC. And counting this year, the SEC will have won the title 9 of those years.
Alabama alone was in 6 of those 12 title games and will be going for a 5th win (all within just the past 9 years). In these 12 years there have been 7 different title winners (8 if Georgia wins this year). The repeats were Bama with 4 and Florida with 2.

In the same time, the ACC and Big Ten were the next closest conferences over the same 12 years and each had only 3 title game appearances (wins for FSU, Clemson and Ohio State). Big 12 and Pac 12 each had 2 appearances and all were losses.

For comparison, the previous 12 seasons (1994-2005) the SEC had 5 title game appearances and 3 title wins. And in those 12 years there were 10 different title winners. The only repeat was Nebraska who won 3 between '94-'97.
[Post edited by HokieAl at 01/02/2018 09:54AM]

Posted: 01/02/2018 at 09:54AM


Insert a Link

Enter the title of the link here:

Enter the full web address of the link here -- include the "http://" part:

Current Thread:
  It comes down to coaching and talent. -- HOO86 01/03/2018 5:15PM
  Sorta like NASCAR in the south -- Mercury 01/03/2018 11:07AM
  I blame Nick Saban. ** -- Stech 01/02/2018 7:49PM
  No, SEC had teams playing for titles in the 90's too....and -- nebraskafaninwi 01/02/2018 2:03PM

Our Sponsors

Shop Our TSL Affiliate Links!