So the first thing I did when I got home was to watch that play
Before the ball arrives, it does look like Lawter may be blocking the plate. The problem is, at that very point, the runner is barely halfway home. When the throw gets there, the runner is only 3/4 of the way home.
So while the ruling was "technically" correct *Later blocked the plate without the ball), it had absolutely NO bearing on whether the runner was safe or out.
TickyTack call, IMHO.
|
(
In response to this post by VTsportscaster)
Posted: 04/07/2021 at 11:10PM