Virginia Tech Track & Field Sweeps ACC Indoor Championships

Rachel Baxter and Cole Beck show off the Hokies’ 2022 ACC trophies during the first half of the Louisville basketball game. (Jon Fleming)

Over the weekend, Virginia Tech track & field swept the 2022 ACC Indoor Championships in Rector Field House in Blacksburg.

The men’s team won its second-straight title with 105 points (18th all-time), its third championship in the last four tries. The women recorded 86 points and were crowned co-champions with Duke, their 19th title in program history and second in three seasons.

Cole Beck (Track) and Victoria Gorlova (Field) were named the ACC Indoor Championships MVPs.

Cole Beck exits the final turn on the way to winning the 200 m championship in a time of 20.95. (Jon Fleming)

A Blacksburg native, Beck won the 200m with a time of 20.95. He was one of four Hokies to score in the 200m, along with Kahleje Tillmon, Torrence Walker, and Kennedy Harrison.

Gorlova was victorious in the triple jump with a mark of 13.47 (44′ 2.5″). Gorlova, who also finished sixth in the long jump, is No. 7 in the country in the triple jump. She’s one of ten Tech athletes and the women’s DMR team (distance medley relay) that will compete in 2022 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships in Birmingham, Ala. on March 11 and 12.

Lindsey Butler dominated the 800m in 2:01.23, a time that is first in the NCAA in 2022, ninth all-time and ranks No. 17 in the world this year. It’s also an ACC Championships record, and she broke her own school record.

Butler also was on the four-leg team that won the women’s DMR (distance medley relay), joining Hannah Ballowe, Star Price and Leigha Torino. The group ran a combined time of 10:53.75, over three seconds faster than second-place Virginia, and the four will compete as the No. 2 seed in the NCAAs in a few weeks. Butler will also run the 800m in Birmingham as the No. 1 seed.

Lindsey Butler cruised to a 800 m final win on Saturday. Her time of 2:01.23 was an ACC Conference meet record. (Jon Fleming)

Rachel Baxter, the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Championships in the pole vault, cruised in Rector with a height of 4.61m. Julia Fixsen, her Tech teammate who is No. 3 in D-I, finished third at 4.36m.

In women’s weight throw, the Hokies took first and second. Rebecca Mammel won the title posted a distance of 23.08m, while Sara Killien was right behind her at 22.21m. Tech was also dominant on the men’s side, with Alexios Prodanas finishing second (22.12m). Mammel (No. 6) and Prodanas (No. 13) will both compete at the NCAAs.

The group of Ben Fleming, Patrick Forrest, Christian Jackson and Antonio Lopez Segura won the men’s DMR with a time of 9:35.00. Lopez Segura also ran the 3,000m and finished second behind Dylan Jacobs of Notre Dame with a time of 7:50.42.

Ben Fleming runs the 1200 m lead off leg for the DMR team for the Hokies, an event the men and women both won. (Jon Fleming)

Chauncey Chambers, the No. 9 seed in the country in the triple jump, took silver with a career-best distance of 16.29 (53′ 5.5″). Freshman Conner McClure finished third in his first career conference meet in the men’s pole vault with a height of 5.26m. Jacob Spotswood also placed second in the heptathlon with a personal best score of 5,835. He’s the No. 7 seed in the event and will compete in Birmingham.

For a full list of results from the ACC Championships, click here. Details on the Hokies’ 11 NCAA qualifiers, the most of any school in the conference, can be found here.

Here’s a breakdown of Virginia Tech athletes that earned All-ACC honors:

ACC Indoor Championships Track MVP (Men)

Cole Beck

ACC Indoor Championships Field MVP (Women)

Victoria Gorlova

First Team All-ACC Indoor (Men)

Cole Beck (60m, 200m) – champion in 200m
Chauncey Chambers (triple jump)
Ben Fleming (DMR) – champion
Patrick Forrest (DMR) ­– champion
Christian Jackson (DMR) – champion
Antonio Lopez Segura (3,000m, DMR) – champion in DMR
Conner McClure (pole vault)
Alexios Prodanas (weight throw)
Jake Spotswood (heptathlon)

Second Team All-ACC Indoor (Men)

Aidan Clark (high jump)
Kennedy Harrison (200m, 400m)
Tyson Jones (shot put)
Sam McLendon (60m hurdles)
Harrison Rice (pole vault)
Jacob Rice (pole vault)
Kahleje “KJ” Tillmon (200m)

First Team All-ACC Indoor (Women)

Hannah Ballowe (DMR) – champion
Rachel Baxter (pole vault) – champion
Lindsey Butler (800m, DMR) – champion in both
Julia Fixsen (pole vault)
Victoria Gorlova (triple jump) – champion
Sara Killinen (weight throw)
Barbora Malíková (400m)
Rebecca Mammel (weight throw) – champion
Star Price (DMR) – champion
Leigha Torino (DMR) – champion

Second Team All-ACC Indoor (Women)

Layla Anderson (60m hurdles)
Victoria Gorlova (long jump)

4 Responses You are logged in as Test

Comments are closed.