2018-19 Virginia Tech Men’s Basketball Schedule Released

Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit
Virginia Tech
Virginia Tech’s men’s basketball schedule was released on Thursday. (Photo by Ivan Morozov)

Virginia Tech’s 2018-19 men’s basketball schedule was released on Thursday morning.  The Hokies open the season on Friday, November 9 at 7pm when they host Gardner-Webb.

Tech has no guaranteed 9pm games this year.  Their home game against Duke will either be a 7pm or 9pm tip, depending on which network carries the game.  The Hokies have three 8pm games, but other than that all their ACC contests will be played at 7pm or in the afternoon.

ACC play begins on Tuesday, January 1 at 1pm when Tech hosts Notre Dame.  The game will be televised by ESPNU.  ACC play will end with a rare Friday night game against Miami, and ESPN2 will carry that game at 7pm. 

Tech has three Saturday-Monday quick turnarounds on their schedule this year, in the following order…

Saturday, January 19 vs. Wake Forest, 4pm
Monday, January 21 at UNC, 7pm

Saturday, February 2 at NC State, Noon
Monday, February 4 vs. Louisville, 7pm

Saturday, February 16 at Pitt, 4:30pm
Monday, February 18 vs. UVA, 7pm

All three of those Monday games will be Big Monday games on ESPN. 

Virginia Tech’s ACC/Big Ten Challenge game will be against Penn State in the Bryce Jordan Center on Tuesday, November 27.  Tipoff is scheduled for 7pm, and the game will be carried by either ESPN2 or ESPNU.

The Hokies will play in the Charleston Classic beginning on Thursday, November 15 with an 11:30am matchup with Ball State on ESPN.  Their second-round opponent will be either Northeastern, or a rematch from the 2018 NCAA Tournament against Alabama.  Possible opponents on the other side of the bracket are Purdue, Appalachian State, Wichita State and Davidson. 

Tech will also play a neutral site game against Washington on Saturday, December 15.  That game will be played in Atlantic City, NJ at 7pm, and ESPNU will televise the game.

The complete schedule is below.

Date Opponent, Time (Eastern), TV
Fri, Nov 9 W (H)#15 VT 87, Gardner-Webb 59
Record: 1-0 (0-0)
Thu, Nov 15 W (N)#16 VT 73, Ball State 64
Record: 2-0 (0-0)
Fri, Nov 16 W (N)#16 VT 88, Northeastern 60
Record: 3-0 (0-0)
Sun, Nov 18 W (N)#16 VT 89, #23 Purdue 83
Record: 4-0 (0-0)
Sat, Nov 24 W (H)#13 VT 75, St. Francis PA 37
Record: 5-0 (0-0)
Tue, Nov 27 L (A)Penn State 63, #13 VT 62
Record: 5-1 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 1 W (H)#13 VT 94, Central Conn. State 40
Record: 6-1 (0-0)
Wed, Dec 5 W (H)#14 VT 89, VMI 68
Record: 7-1 (0-0)
Sun, Dec 9 W (H)#14 VT 81, SC State 44
Record: 8-1 (0-0)
Sat, Dec 15 W (N)#13 VT 73, Washington 61
Record: 9-1 (0-0)
Wed, Dec 19 W (H)#13 VT 82, NC A&T 60
Record: 10-1 (0-0)
Fri, Dec 28 W (H)#10 VT 85, UMES 40
Record: 11-1 (0-0)
Tue, Jan 1 W (H)#10 VT 81, Notre Dame 66
Record: 12-1 (1-0)
Sat, Jan 5 W (H)#10 VT 77, BC 66
Record: 13-1 (2-0)
Wed, Jan 9 W (A)#7 VT 52, GT 49
Record: 14-1 (3-0)
Tue, Jan 15 L (A)#1 UVA 81, #7 VT 59
Record: 14-2 (3-1)
Sat, Jan 19 W (H)#7 VT 87, Wake Forest 71
Record: 15-2 (4-1)
Mon, Jan 21 L (A)#10 UNC 103, #8 VT 82
Record: 15-3 (4-2)
Sat, Jan 26 W (H)#8 VT 78, Syracuse 56
Record: 16-3 (5-2)
Wed, Jan 30 W (A)#11 VT 82, Miami 70
Record: 17-3 (6-2)
Sat, Feb 2 W (A)#11 VT 47, #22 NC State 24
Record: 18-3 (7-2)
Mon, Feb 4 L (H)#16 Louisville 72, #11 VT 64
Record: 18-4 (7-3)
Sat, Feb 9 L (A)Clemson 59, #11 VT 51
Record: 18-5 (7-4)
Wed, Feb 13 W (H)#16 VT 76, Georgia Tech 68
Record: 19-5 (8-4)
Sat, Feb 16 W (A)#16 VT 70, Pittsburgh 64
Record: 20-5 (9-4)
Mon, Feb 18 L (H)#3 Virginia 64, #18 VT 58
Record: 20-6 (9-5)
Sat, Feb 23 W (A)#18 VT 67, Notre Dame 59
Record: 21-6 (10-5)
Tue, Feb 26 W (H)#19 VT 77, #3 Duke 72
Record: 22-6 (11-5)
Tue, Mar 5 L (A)#13 FSU 73, #15 VT 64 (OT)
Record: 22-7 (11-6)
Fri, Mar 8 W (H)#15 VT 84, Miami 70
Record: 23-7 (12-6)
Wed, Mar 13 W (N)#15 VT 71, Miami 56
Record: 24-7 (12-6)
ACC Tournament
Spectrum Center (Charlotte, NC)
Thu, Mar 14 L (N)#12 FSU 65, #15 VT 63 (OT)
Record: 24-8 (12-6)
ACC Tournament
Spectrum Center (Charlotte, NC)
Fri, Mar 22 W (N)#15 VT 66, Saint Louis 52
Record: 25-8 (12-6)
NCAA Tournament
Sun, Mar 24 W (N)#15 VT 67, Liberty 58
Record: 26-8 (12-6)
NCAA Tournament
Fri, Mar 29 L (N)#1 Duke 75, #15 VT 73
Record: 26-9 (12-6)
NCAA Tournament
Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit

5 Responses You are logged in as Test

  1. You guys have done some good work in the past looking at RPI effects of scheduling. Look forward to that kind of deeper view and whether the announcement by the NCAA that they will change their method (perhaps reducing the influence of RPI) will have a bearing.

    1. This. Would have loved a paragraph on the impact to RPI relative to past seasons this schedule will cause. What are the potentially “bad” RPI games etc. Would be interesting to see a ranking of seasons by worst for RPI rating/scheduling and where this one fits in. I am sure it will be a bigger topic towards the end of the season after some games have been played.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *