Six Hokies Up for Major Awards

Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit

Six different Virginia Tech football players are on 10 different Watch Lists
for major awards. The preseason hasn’t
even begun, but it’s obvious that the Hokies have some good individual talent.

on Watch Lists
Award Player(s)
Bednarik Jayron Hosley, Bruce Taylor
Biletnikoff Jarrett Boykin
Butkus Bruce Taylor
Walter Camp Jayron Hosley
Lombardi Jaymes Brooks, Blake DeChristopher, Bruce Taylor
Maxwell David Wilson
Bronko Nagurski Jayron Hosley, Bruce Taylor
Outland Blake DeChristopher
Jim Thorpe Jayron Hosley
Doak Walker David Wilson

Jayron Hosley – Hosley is Tech’s most decorated player in the preseason, and
he is expected to earn many preseason All-American awards as well. He is
currently up for the Bednarik Award (best defensive player), the Walter Camp
Award (overall player of the year), the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive
player) and the Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back).

Hosley is coming off an outstanding sophomore season in which he lead the
nation with nine interceptions.

Bruce Taylor – Taylor started at the mike linebacker spot for the Hokies
last season, and put up big numbers: 91 tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss and six
sacks. As a result, Taylor is up for the Bednarik Award, the Butkus Award (best
linebacker), the Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker) and the Bronko
Nagurski Award.

Jarrett Boykin – With 123 career receptions, Boykin needs just three more
catches to tie Ernest Wilford’s all-time receiving record. He will likely tie
that record in the opening game against Appalachian State. He is up for the
Biletnikoff Award, which is given to the nation’s top receiver.

Jaymes Brooks – Brooks has started every game at right guard for Virginia
Tech since the Hokies beat Cincinnati in the Orange Bowl. He is up for the
Lombardi Award.

Blake DeChristopher – DeChristopher has been starting at right tackle for
the Hokies since the beginning of his r-freshman season. He is up for the
Lombardi Award, as well as the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman).

David Wilson – For the first time in his career, David Wilson will be
Tech’s full-time running back. Last season he rushed for 619 yards and five
touchdowns, while also catching 15 passes for 234 yards and four touchdowns.
Wilson topped off his season with two huge kickoff returns for touchdowns
against NC State and Georgia Tech. He is up for the Maxwell Award (best overall
player) and the Doak Walker Award (best running back).

Past award winners at Virginia Tech are: Jake Grove (Rimington Trophy in
2003), Corey Moore (Lombardi and Nagurski Awards in 1999), Bruce Smith (Outland
Trophy in 1984) and Michael Vick (ESPY as the National Player of the Year in

Complete watch lists for all college football awards can be downloaded here.

Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit