Football Practice Opens Today; Hokies Ranked 16th by Coaches

Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit

After months of anticipation, Virginia Tech will begin preseason football
practice this afternoon. The Hokies have a lot of question marks going into the
season, and they will begin to be answered today at 3:15.

On the offensive side of the ball, the Hokies will try to figure out who
their starting quarterback will be. Sean Glennon leads, but Cory Holt and Ike
Whitaker are close behind. All three quarterbacks need to get off to a good
start in the opening days of practice, or they will find themselves losing
ground quickly.

The Hokies also need to establish their starting offensive guards. Ryan
Shuman has pretty much locked down a spot at right guard, while Sergio Render
and Nick Marshman are battling it out at left guard. Right now it appears that
Marshman has the lead and will open preseason practice as the starter.

On the defensive side of the ball, the Hokies will attempt to establish depth
along the defensive line and at linebacker. Tech is set with three juniors at
the top of the depth chart at defensive tackle, but they need to see exactly how
good redshirt freshmen Cordarrow Thompson and Hivera Green will be this year.

At linebacker, the Hokies have very good starters, but the backups need
increased reps, especially at the backer position.

Here is a look at the practice schedule for this season, per BeamerBall.com.


2006 VT Football Practice Schedule

Date

Time

Fri. Aug. 4
3:15

Sat. Aug. 5
3:15

Sun. Aug. 6
3:15

Mon. Aug. 7
3:15

Tues. Aug. 8
3:15

Wed. Aug. 9

7am and 3:15pm

Thurs. Aug. 10
3:15

Fri. Aug. 11
3:15

Sat. Aug. 12*
3:15

Sun. Aug. 13
3:15

Mon. Aug. 14

7am and 3:15pm

Tues. Aug. 15
3:15

Wed. Aug. 16

7am and 3:15pm

Thurs. Aug. 17
3:15

Fri. Aug. 18
3:15

Sat. Aug. 19*
3:15

Sun. Aug. 20

TBD

Mon. Aug 21
Off

Tues. Aug. 22
4:45

Wed.. Aug. 23
4:45

Thurs. . Aug. 24
4:45

Fri. Aug. 25*
4:45

Sat. Aug. 26*
8:00

* indicates a scrimmage
Note: Regular game preparation
starts on Monday, August 28th.

The Hokies will hold live scrimmages on Saturday, August 12th, Saturday, August
19th, and Friday, August 25th. A scripted scrimmaged will be held on Saturday,
August 26th. These scrimmages will be extremely important for getting younger
players reps in live situations. The results of those scrimmages will go a long
way in establishing a depth chart.

USA Today Coaches’ Poll Released, Hokies 16th

The USA Today released their 2006 preseason Coaches’ Poll on Thursday. The
Hokies are ranked 16th, and four ACC teams find themselves ranked in the top 25.
Ohio State was named the #1 team in the country, with defending National
Champion Texas at #2. Notre Dame and USC tied for #3, while Oklahoma rounds out
the top five.

The highest ranked ACC team is Florida State, who comes in at #10 in the
nation. The Seminoles are ranked one spot higher than their arch rivals, the
Miami Hurricanes. Miami is ranked #11, just 35 points behind Florida State. The
two teams open the season against each other on Monday, September 4.

Virginia Tech is ranked #16 in the country, with 591 total points. They come
in two spots ahead of Clemson, who is #18 with 493 total points. Those four
teams are the only ACC teams ranked in the preseason top 25.

Other ACC teams did receive votes, including Boston College (87), Georgia
Tech (28), Maryland (8) and Duke (1). Steve Spurrier always votes Duke at #25 in
his preseason poll every year.

Welcome Back Picnic

The 2006 Welcome Back Picnic has been scheduled for Sunday, August 13th in
Cassell Coliseum. The event will last from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm and will include a
meal provided by Outback Steakhouse. Bill Roth and Mike Burnop will host the
event, and Frank Beamer and the entire Virginia Tech football team will be
present.

Mike Gentry will also be on hand to present the summer strength and
conditioning awards. At 7 pm, the football team will be available to fans for an
autograph session.

Tickets, which are $15 for adults and $5 for children 12 and under, can be
purchased by calling A Cleaner World at 540-951-9506.

Share on your favorite social network:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someoneGoogle+share on TumblrShare on Reddit