Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Cvill/Rev - What was worse for VT? Greenberg firing mess or Moir/Russel Pierre

fiasco from the 80s. I hope it is the Moir situation when I was a student as I don't want to see VT get that bad again as it was through the "Frankie Hankie" years!!

Quote Originally Posted by Lakeridgehokie View Post
    fiasco from the 80s. I hope it is the Moir situation when I was a student as I don't want to see VT get that bad again as it was through the "Frankie Hankie" years!!
    Stupid Question - have any of the knowledgeable posters ever actually said that the SG firing as a singular event was particularly damaging to VT? I saw that sentiment expressed by many fans on here, but am not sure I ever had those suspicions confirmed by people who would know.

It was always my impression that Jim Weaver and the VT AD had done a pretty good job of earning themselves a reputation in the College Basketball Community, long before the firing of SG, as fostering a situation that would be a less-than-deal job for many/most people. If anything, the SG firing would only futher confirm what people thought/knew, but as an incident itself didn't have the significance a lot of people want to assign to it.

I could be wrong, but it's always been my impression that VT's problems with succeeding in MBB are systemic, not really related to any single incident.
    There's a difference between a "fact" and an "opinion that you agree with."

Quote Originally Posted by Groff View Post
    Stupid Question - have any of the knowledgeable posters ever actually said that the SG firing as a singular event was particularly damaging to VT? I saw that sentiment expressed by many fans on here, but am not sure I ever had those suspicions confirmed by people who would know.